Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


The Department of Economics is the first department of the Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences which was founded in 1992.  The department received first students for the evening education in the academic year of 1993-1994. In the following academic year normal education started. These two programs are currently in function. The department granted first undergraduate degrees in 1997.

In the establishment process, the department used the Çukursaray and Agavat buildings of the Y─▒ld─▒z Central Campus. In February 2000, the department moved to the  historical building in the entrance of the campus.

Undergraduate education in the Department of Economics has four sub-departments: Economic Theory, Economic Development and International Economics, Economic Policy and Economic History.  In addition, the department maintains masters, non-thesis masters and PhD programs under Institute of Social Sciences as the sub-department of economics.